faq

Frequently asked questions

New to Van’s Foods and have some questions for us? We thought you might! To help you out, we’ve pulled together a list of frequently asked questions.

Still not finding what you’re looking for? Send us a message through our contact form and we’ll help you find the specific information you are looking for. Or, drop us a line at 1-855-258-5685.

Company Information

Do you have any coupons available?

o From time to time we have fun promotions on our Facebook page where you can find coupons for our products. Be sure to like Van’s Foods Facebook Page and become a fan so you don't miss out. We also encourage you to join Van’s Foods eClub. We send our subscribers special offers including coupons, the latest news about new products and other healthy living tips. Click here to sign up: Van's eClub.

How can I reach someone in the Consumer Relations department?

Please visit our Contact Us page and use the form to send us a question or comment via email. You can also call us at 1-855-258-5685. Please leave us a message and we'll get back to you within 24 hours.


Our mailing address:
Van's International Foods
Van's International Foods
P.O. Box 3901
Peoria, IL 61612

Allergy/Special Diet Information

Are your products produced in a facility that contains peanuts or tree nuts?

Van’s Foods waffles, pancakes, French toast sticks, chips and crackers are produced in facilities that do NOT process peanuts or tree nuts. Van’s Foods cereals are produced in a facility that handles tree nuts, but does NOT process peanuts. Van’s Foods snack bars, sandwich bars, granolas and pastas are produced in a facility that processes both peanuts and tree nuts. Van’s Foods practices good manufacturing processes in order to prevent cross-contamination of allergens. You are welcome to email us at info@vansfoods.com if you have additional questions.

Are your products produced in a gluten free facility?

Van’s Foods gluten free products (waffles, pancakes, French toast sticks, cereals, crackers, pasta, granola and bars) are not produced in gluten free facilities but are manufacturing practices, as described below, prevent cross contamination. However, all our gluten free products are certified by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization and carry the GFCO logo on the front of package to identify the certification. Visit the GFCO website at www.gfco.org

for more info on their independent certification process. Van’s Foods and our manufacturing partners follow good manufacturing practices and cross-contamination prevention practices. These practices include:


- Test incoming ingredients to ensure they meet our standards
- Thorough sanitation of equipment used in the production of our gluten free products
- Strict segregation of ingredients used in our gluten free products
- Production in an allergen-controlled area within our production facility
- Regular testing for the presence of gluten in our gluten free products

Do you use gluten free oats?

Yes, we only use gluten free oats in our gluten free products. Each product is certified by the GFCO so you can be assured that these are safe (and yummy) to eat. Check for the GFCO logo on the front of the package and visit the GFCO website at www.gfco.org for more information on their independent certification process.

Ingredient Definitions

Do you have any coupons available?

From time to time we have fun promotions on our Facebook page where you can find coupons for our products. Be sure to like Van's Facebook Page and become a Van's fan so you don't miss out. We also encourage you to join Van's Club. We send our subscribers special offers including coupons, the latest news about new Van's products and other healthy living tips.

Does Van's Foods use artificial flavors?

Absolutely not! Our products contain no artificial flavors. All our ingredients are clearly marked on our labels.

What are "natural flavors"?

Here at Van’s Foods, we believe in using better-for-you, simple ingredients and we do not use artificial flavors, colors or preservatives in any of our products. Like many food companies, we do use natural flavors in some of our products.

Natural flavors are made from ingredients that are found in nature such as milk, fruits, juice, vegetables, spices, and grains that are roasted, heated, or subjected to other common food processing that will enhance the development of the desired flavor. We source our natural flavors from companies that comply with the requirements established by U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), including the requirement to provide a certification that the products may appropriately be labeled as "natural flavors.”

Product Questions

Are any of Van's Foods products vegan?

Currently, several of Van’s Foods frozen products are free of meat, fish, seafood, eggs, dairy and honey. These products are: Gluten Free Totally Original waffles, Gluten Free Blueberry waffles, Gluten Free Apple Cinnamon waffles, Gluten Free Buckwheat waffles, Gluten Free Flax waffles, Gluten Free Ancient Grains Original waffles, Organics Totally Original waffles, Organics Blueberry waffles, Organics Flax waffles, Gluten Free Totally Original pancakes and Gluten Free Cinnamon French toast sticks.

In addition, several of our new grocery items are also free of meat, fish, seafood, eggs, dairy and honey.  These products are: Multigrain Crackers, Lots of Everything! Crackers, Mighty Good BBQ! Multigrain chips, Rotini & Red Sauce Pasta, Cranberry Almond Snack Bars and Cinnamon Heaven Cereal. Please visit our product page for the most up-to-date and complete information on nutrition, ingredients and allergens for all our products.

Are Van's Foods waffles organic?

We have three waffle products that are certified organic by Quality Assurance International (QAI), one of the leading providers of organic certification services worldwide. Click on the products below to view their ingredients and nutrition facts.  

Organic Totally Original waffles
Organic Blueberry waffles
Organic Flax waffles

Is the canola oil in your waffles non-GMO?

Yes.  All our waffles are made with expeller pressed non-GMO canola oil that is verified by the Non-GMO Project.

What is the shelf life of Van's Foods products?

Please refer to the "Best By" date on Van's Foods product packaging.

What is Van's Foods take on GMOs?

We recognize that GMOs are an important issue for many of our customers and we work closely with the Non-GMO Project, which has the only uniform, industry-wide standard and verification program, to verify our non-GMO product status.

Where can I find Van's Foods products?

You can find Van’s Foods delicious products in most natural foods stores, grocery stores and super centers. Please use our store locator to find the stores near you that carry Van’s.

Which of Van's Foods products are gluten free?

We offer a wide variety of gluten free products including: 

Gluten Free Waffles: Gluten Free Waffles Totally Original, Blueberry, Apple Cinnamon, Buckwheat with Berries, Flax and Ancient Grains
Gluten Free Pancakes: Totally Original
Gluten Free French Toast Sticks: Cinnamon
Gluten Free Cereals: Honey Crunch and Cinnamon Heaven
Gluten Free Crackers: Say Cheese!, Multigrain, Lots of Everything!, The Perfect 10 and Fire-Roasted Veggie
Gluten Free Snack Bars: Cranberry Almond, Chocolate Chip and Peanut Butter Chocolate
Gluten Free Sandwich Bars: PB&J Strawberry and PB&J Blueberry
Gluten Free Granola: Cranberry Almond, Blueberry Walnut
Gluten Free Pasta: Creamy Herb and Garlic, Rotini & Red Sauce and Ultimate Cheddar Penne
Gluten Free Multigrain Chips: Nacho, Nacho Man! and Mighty Good BBQ!

Van’s Foods is always adding new products, so please visit our product page for the most up to date information including product ingredient and nutrition statements.

Which of Vans products do not contain dairy or egg?

Many of Van’s Foods products do not contain dairy or egg, including our Gluten Free waffles, 8 Whole Grain waffles, Organic waffles, Gluten Free pancakes, Gluten Free Cinnamon French toast sticks, Honey Crunch and Cinnamon Heaven cereals, Blueberry Walnut and Cranberry Almond granolas, Mighty Good BBQ! Multigrain chips, Rotini & Red Sauce pasta, Cranberry Almond snack bars and Multigrain and Lots of Everything! crackers. Please visit our product page for the most up-to-date and complete information on nutrition, ingredients and allergens for all our products.

Which products are Non-GMO Project verified?

The following Van’s Foods products are verified by the Non-GMO Project:

· 8 Whole Grains Lite Waffles
· 8 Whole Grains Multigrain Waffles
· Gluten Free Ancient Grains Waffles
· Gluten Free Apple Cinnamon Waffles
· Gluten Free Blueberry Waffles
· Gluten Free Totally Original Waffles
· Belgian Homestyle Waffles
· Organics Blueberry Waffles
· Organics Flax Waffles
· Organics Totally Original Waffles
· Mini Chocolate Chip Waffles
· Mini Whole Grain Totally Original Waffles
· Power Grains Waffles
· Gluten Free Cinnamon French Toast Sticks
· Pancakes Homestyle
· Gluten Free Totally Original Pancakes 
· 8 Whole Grains Multigrain Pancakes
· Chocolate Chip Snack Bars
· Cranberry Almond Snack Bars
· PB&J Blueberry Sandwich Bar
· PB&J Strawberry Sandwich Bar
· Cinnamon Heaven Cereal
· Honey Crunch Cereal
· Fire Roasted Veggie Crackers
· Lots of Everything! Crackers
· Perfect 10 Crackers
· Multigrain Crackers

We have many additional products in the process of being verified and will continue to share the good news as more and more Van’s Foods products are verified in the near future. 

We will continue to work with the Non-GMO Project as we strive to achieve third party verification of all Van’s products, just as we worked with Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO) over the past two years to certify all Van’s gluten free products and with Quality Assurance International (QAI) to certify all Van’s organic products.

Why did you remove the word "nut" from your Honey Crunch Cereal?

Our Honey Crunch cereal does not contain actual nuts. However, honey along with natural nut flavors used in our cereal inspired its unique flavor and name. To help limit confusion, we removed “nut” from the name.  However, please note Van’s cereals are produced in a facility that handles tree nuts, but does NOT process peanuts. We hope you enjoy our nutrient-dense, gluten free cereal that’s loaded with whole grains, fiber, great taste and crunch!